Young Dairy Scientist Award

The Young Dairy Scientist Award aims to be the most prestigious and esteemed national award for young dairy scientists.

Aimed at early-stage career scientists, the session forms part of the annual ADC program providing opportunity to showcase new technologies and research to farmer delegates and offering broader exposure for upcoming scientists and their areas of research.

Entry is by application and will open in September each year.

Full conference registration is complimentary to finalists with the winner receiving a travel bursary to extend their specified area of research.

For more information regarding the Young Scientist Award please contact ADC Scientific Director Richard Rawnsley at Richard.rawnsley@utas.edu.au

YDSCA Sponsor


Congratulations to the 2019 finalists

- Teanna Cahill, Murdoch University (WA)
- Patricia Colusso, University of Western Sydney (NSW)
- Juan Guragilo, University of Sydney (NSW)
- Chaya Smith, University of Melbourne
- Caelie Richardson, Latrobe University (VIC)
- Felicity Searle, Murdoch University (WA


Caeli Richardson

Originally from the city, Caeli Richardson discovered her passion for the dairy industry while working on a 40-cow herd in Canada during her Bachelor’s and Master’s degree at the University of Guelph. The focus of her research was on the economics of feed efficiency and environmental sustainability of the Canadian dairy industry.

Caeli is excited for the opportunity to gain a new prospective of dairy farming as she is currently a PhD candidate at La Trobe University and Agriculture Victoria under the supervision of Dr. Jennie Pryce. Ms Richardson is currently investigating the opportunity to use new technologies to improve the reliabilities of challenging traits – starting with methane.